Who We Are

The Texas Map Society was organized in November 1996 to foster the study, understanding, preservation, restoration, and collection of historical maps as well as the general history of cartography. Membership only requires an interest in maps of any nature or focus. Members participate in special events and programs. TMS is one of only a few such societies in the United States and the only one in Texas. See our links page for more information about other societies and special collections.

By Laws

Click here to download Texas Map Society By Laws


(January. 2015-December 2016)

  • President: Shirley Applewhite
  • First Vice President: David Murph
  • Second Vice President: Dr. Russell Martin
  • Secretary: Ben Huseman
  • Treasurer: Lynne Starnes

Board Members

(January 2014-December 2016)

  • John Phillips
  • Pamalla Anderson
  • John Wilson
  • David Finfrock

Board Members

(January 2015-December 2017)

  • Brenda McClurkin
  • Stephanie Miller
  • Bill Stallings
  • Walt Wilson


  • James Harkins