Who We Are

The Texas Map Society was organized in November 1996 to foster the study, understanding, preservation, restoration, and collection of historical maps as well as the general history of cartography. Membership only requires an interest in maps of any nature or focus. Members participate in special events and programs. TMS is one of only a few such societies in the United States and the only one in Texas. See our links page for more information about other societies and special collections.

By Laws

Click here to download Texas Map Society By Laws


(January. 2017-December 2018)

  • President: Dr. Russell Martin
  • First Vice President: Brenda McClurkin
  • Second Vice President: Walt Wilson
  • Secretary: Ben Huseman
  • Treasurer: Lynne Starnes

Board Members

TMS Board Members (2016 – 2017)

  • Stephanie Miller
  • Bill Stallings
  • Stuart Gleichenhaus

TMS Board Members (2017 – 2018)

  • John Phillips
  • Pamalla Anderson
  • Dr. Mylynka Cardona

TMS Board Members (2017 – 2019)

  • James Harkins
  • Dr. John M. Parker
  • David Finfrock

Editor, The Neatline

  • David Finfrock


  • James Harkins